Menu Travels in Time

Mayo - 1
Mayo Abbey

Mayo Abbey

Monastic Site

Site Number
SMR Mayo 090 100

National Grid Reference
126380 East
279450 North

Map ( 1:50000)
Ordnance Survey Ireland, Discovery Series No 38

List of Sites and Artefacts
Click Here

Interactive Map
Click Here

Aerial view of enclosure at Mayo Abbey
Aerial view of enclosure at Mayo Abbey

Vallum Wall

The multi-period monastic site at Mayo Abbey would not initially have been as large as the remnants of the enclosing wall (vallum) suggests, but might well have reflected the simple austerity of the monastic life at Lindisfarne. According to Bede, the church at Lindisfarne was made of hewn oak and then covered with reeds (Bradley, 1999). The Abbot of Lindisfarne, Colmán had, between 668 and the early 670s, founded the monastery at Mayo Abbey which would by 700 AD become over a relatively short time span, a famous seat of learning with over one hundred monks living there.

The national and international importance of this monastery is stated in the Irish annals up until the 13th century. The Northumbrian connection was acknowledged in that the area became known as 'Mayo of the Saxons'. There are two main phases of occupation, the early Christian monastic foundations and a later medieval Augustinian Abbey (Madden, 1999). The enclosure measuring 265m N-S and circa 275m E-W in internal diameters is described in the context of similar sites around the country as 'huge' (Morahan, 1996).

Excavation Details
Not Available

Contact Mayo Abbey Community


Check out the following sections of the website for related information:

Mayo Sites and Artefacts

1. Mayo Abbey
2. Balla
3. Ballintubber Abbey
4. Tóchar Phadraig
5. Aghagower
6. Lankhill
7. Boheh
8. Croagh Patrick Summit
9. Carrownalurgan
10. Ardoley
11. Kiladangan
12. Glaspatrick
13. Shrawee
14. Clare Island - Strake
15. Clare Island - Lecarrow
16. Caher Island
17. Durless

18. Carrowmore
19. Knappaghmanagh
20. Cushalogurt
21. Carrowkeel Ecclesiastical Remains
22. Thornhill
23. Carrowkeel Murrisk
24. Carrowkeel Cahernaran
25. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-1
26. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-2
27. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-3
28. Carrowmacloughlin/ Glencally/ Teevenacroaghy
29. Carrowmacloughlin Sweathouses
30. Glaspatrick Holy Well

31. Glaspatrick Rath-1
32. Glaspatrick Early Ecclesiastical Remains
33. Glaspatrick Ringfort
34. Glaspatrick Rath-2
35. Glaspatrick Ecclesiatical Remains
36. Glaspatrick Altar
38. Glaspatrick Graveyard
39. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-1
40. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-2
41. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-3
42. Teevenacroaghy

Mayo - Vestvågøy - Mid-Argyll

Travels in Time | Overview | Themes |

Timelines | 700BC to 0 | 0 to 800AD | 800AD to 1100AD |

Landscape | Mayo | Vestvågøy | Mid-Argyll | Archaeology |

Other Media | Education | Exhibition | Publication |

Information | Bibliography | Project | Links | Contact |

This project has been supported by the EU as part of the Culture 2000 programme.