Menu Travels in Time

Mayo - 5


Monastic Site

Site Number
SMR Mayo 088 06301

National Grid Reference
103460 East
280380 North

Map ( 1:50000)
Ordnance Survey Ireland, Discovery Series, 31

List of Sites and Artefacts
Click Here

Interactive Map
Click Here

Aghagower Abbey (after Richard Bullimore)

Sheela-na-gig at Aghagower (Photo: Christiaan Corlett)


Below: Round Tower at Aghagower
(Photo: Christiaan Corlett)

The church at Aughagower is mentioned as early as 700 AD by St Patrick's biographer, Tírechán. It was reputedly founded by St Senach in the seventh century. The name arrives from the gaelic, Achaidh fobhair meaning 'field of the spring' (Corlett, 2000). Nearby are Tober na nDeachaun translated as 'well of the deacons' and Dabhach Phádraig, 'Patrick's bath'. Inset into the wall of Dabhach Phádraig is a sheela-na-gig, a medieval symbol which would have been placed in a very accessible part of the church walls (Corlett, 2000). This small explicit carving of a female showing her genitalia is a medieval symbol which has primitive roots.

The pilgrim road from Ballintubber passes this church site on its way to the mountain. The only trace of the early church is the remnants of the west door which was incorporated into the later building. West of the church is the remains of a much damaged and repaired round tower with a base diameter of 5m and reaching a height of almost 16m. The tower has suffered the ravages of fire as the evidence from around the doorway indicates; evidence perhaps of the unreliability of these freestanding constructions as places of safe refuge (Lalor, 1999).

Excavation Details
Not Available



Check out the following sections of the website for related information:

Mayo Sites and Artefacts

1. Mayo Abbey
2. Balla
3. Ballintubber Abbey
4. Tóchar Phadraig
5. Aghagower
6. Lankhill
7. Boheh
8. Croagh Patrick Summit
9. Carrownalurgan
10. Ardoley
11. Kiladangan
12. Glaspatrick
13. Shrawee
14. Clare Island - Strake
15. Clare Island - Lecarrow
16. Caher Island
17. Durless

18. Carrowmore
19. Knappaghmanagh
20. Cushalogurt
21. Carrowkeel Ecclesiastical Remains
22. Thornhill
23. Carrowkeel Murrisk
24. Carrowkeel Cahernaran
25. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-1
26. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-2
27. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-3
28. Carrowmacloughlin/ Glencally/ Teevenacroaghy
29. Carrowmacloughlin Sweathouses
30. Glaspatrick Holy Well

31. Glaspatrick Rath-1
32. Glaspatrick Early Ecclesiastical Remains
33. Glaspatrick Ringfort
34. Glaspatrick Rath-2
35. Glaspatrick Ecclesiatical Remains
36. Glaspatrick Altar
38. Glaspatrick Graveyard
39. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-1
40. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-2
41. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-3
42. Teevenacroaghy

Mayo - Vestvågøy - Mid-Argyll

Travels in Time | Overview | Themes |

Timelines | 700BC to 0 | 0 to 800AD | 800AD to 1100AD |

Landscape | Mayo | Vestvågøy | Mid-Argyll | Archaeology |

Other Media | Education | Exhibition | Publication |

Information | Bibliography | Project | Links | Contact |

This project has been supported by the EU as part of the Culture 2000 programme.