Menu Travels in Time

Mayo - 25

Penitential Station


Site Number
SMR Mayo 087 04303

National Grid Reference
090000 East
279940 North

Map ( 1:50000)
Ordnance Survey Ireland, Discovery Series No 31

List of Sites and Artefacts
Click Here

Interactive Map
Click Here

winter photo 2 cairns

summer - showing all three cairns

These three cairns surrounded by an enclosure form the third station on the Croagh Patrick pilgrimage route. They are located along the western base of the cone of Croagh Patrick, on level ground where four townlands meet. They are aligned NE-SW and the largest cairn at the SW end is 11m in diameter whilst, the other two are 5.5m to 6.5m across. They vary in height from 1.8m to 3.2m and small loose stones possibly from later religious visitations form their outer layers. The local name for this site is Garraí Mór, the 'Great Enclosure' but it is also known as Roilig Mhuire. Roilig Mhuire or Mary's Grave has, it is suggested, a pre Christian origin in that it was possibly a grave dedicated to the memory of a pagan goddess that was later Christianised after the arrival of Saint Patrick.

Excavation Details



Check out the following sections of the website for related information:

Mayo Sites and Artefacts

1. Mayo Abbey
2. Balla
3. Ballintubber Abbey
4. Tóchar Phadraig
5. Aghagower
6. Lankhill
7. Boheh
8. Croagh Patrick Summit
9. Carrownalurgan
10. Ardoley
11. Kiladangan
12. Glaspatrick
13. Shrawee
14. Clare Island - Strake
15. Clare Island - Lecarrow
16. Caher Island
17. Durless

18. Carrowmore
19. Knappaghmanagh
20. Cushalogurt
21. Carrowkeel Ecclesiastical Remains
22. Thornhill
23. Carrowkeel Murrisk
24. Carrowkeel Cahernaran
25. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-1
26. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-2
27. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-3
28. Carrowmacloughlin/ Glencally/ Teevenacroaghy
29. Carrowmacloughlin Sweathouses
30. Glaspatrick Holy Well

31. Glaspatrick Rath-1
32. Glaspatrick Early Ecclesiastical Remains
33. Glaspatrick Ringfort
34. Glaspatrick Rath-2
35. Glaspatrick Ecclesiatical Remains
36. Glaspatrick Altar
38. Glaspatrick Graveyard
39. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-1
40. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-2
41. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-3
42. Teevenacroaghy

Mayo - Vestvågøy - Mid-Argyll

Travels in Time | Overview | Themes |

Timelines | 700BC to 0 | 0 to 800AD | 800AD to 1100AD |

Landscape | Mayo | Vestvågøy | Mid-Argyll | Archaeology |

Other Media | Education | Exhibition | Publication |

Information | Bibliography | Project | Links | Contact |

This project has been supported by the EU as part of the Culture 2000 programme.