Menu Travels in Time

Mayo - 28

Carrowmacloughlin/ Glencally/ Teevenacroaghy


Site Number
SMR Mayo 087 04301

National Grid Reference
090030 East
279940 North

Map ( 1:50000)
Ordnance Survey Ireland, Discovery Series No 31

List of Sites and Artefacts
Click Here

Interactive Map
Click Here

aerial photo

This enclosure cannot be more accurately classified due to the irregularity of its shape and the insufficient remains. Enclosing three cairns with a circumference of four hundred and seventy paces it may have served as a prehistoric enclosure. In modern times it is the third station on the pilgrimage route of Croagh Patrick. A 2m wide trackway scours the outside edge of the enclosure marking the journeys of the countless pilgrims that have traced the footsteps of previous devotees.

The name Reilig Mhuire is generally used to refer to the three enclosed cairns but might be the name for the entire site. In his 1838 description, John O'Donovan describes how the pilgrim after finishing his rounds of the other stations 'descends by another precipitous path leading from the summit of the south west extremity of the cone or Cruach where the most important of the penitential Leachts or monuments are situated. Inside the Great Enclosure or Garraí Mór as it is locally called, are three distinct circles at each of which the pilgrim repeats seven Paters, seven Aves and one Creed, travelling all the while on his knees for seven circuits around each one. The turas or pilgrimage is then finished.

Excavation Details



Check out the following sections of the website for related information:

Mayo Sites and Artefacts

1. Mayo Abbey
2. Balla
3. Ballintubber Abbey
4. Tóchar Phadraig
5. Aghagower
6. Lankhill
7. Boheh
8. Croagh Patrick Summit
9. Carrownalurgan
10. Ardoley
11. Kiladangan
12. Glaspatrick
13. Shrawee
14. Clare Island - Strake
15. Clare Island - Lecarrow
16. Caher Island
17. Durless

18. Carrowmore
19. Knappaghmanagh
20. Cushalogurt
21. Carrowkeel Ecclesiastical Remains
22. Thornhill
23. Carrowkeel Murrisk
24. Carrowkeel Cahernaran
25. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-1
26. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-2
27. Carrowmacloughlin Cairn-3
28. Carrowmacloughlin/ Glencally/ Teevenacroaghy
29. Carrowmacloughlin Sweathouses
30. Glaspatrick Holy Well

31. Glaspatrick Rath-1
32. Glaspatrick Early Ecclesiastical Remains
33. Glaspatrick Ringfort
34. Glaspatrick Rath-2
35. Glaspatrick Ecclesiatical Remains
36. Glaspatrick Altar
38. Glaspatrick Graveyard
39. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-1
40. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-2
41. Murrisk Demesne Standing Stone-3
42. Teevenacroaghy

Mayo - Vestvågøy - Mid-Argyll

Travels in Time | Overview | Themes |

Timelines | 700BC to 0 | 0 to 800AD | 800AD to 1100AD |

Landscape | Mayo | Vestvågøy | Mid-Argyll | Archaeology |

Other Media | Education | Exhibition | Publication |

Information | Bibliography | Project | Links | Contact |

This project has been supported by the EU as part of the Culture 2000 programme.