Menu Check out information for every county in Ireland

County Antrim

county antrimCounty Antrim (Contae Aontroma or simply Aontroim in Irish) forms the north-east corner of Ireland, where a channel only 13 miles wide separates Torr Head from the Scottish coast.

Antrim is one of six counties that form Northern Ireland, and one of nine counties that historically and geographically constitute the Province of Ulster. It is the 9th largest of the thirty-two counties of Ireland in terms of area, and it is the 2nd largest (after Dublin) in terms of population.

Lough Neagh (the largest lake in Ireland) and the fertile valley of the Bann, occupy the western part of County Antrim. The Glens of Antrim offer beautiful rugged landscapes, the Giant's Causeway is truly awe-inspiring, Bushmills Distillery produces legendary whiskey, and Portrush is a popular seaside resort.

Check out Ireland Roots for researching your Irish Family History.